Burning Cane

Burning cloud twists up in the pale grey sky
Streams of black fall all around me
Graceful petals of soot twirling toward the earth like confetti
Evoke imaginings of the lonely smoking mountain
My world is filtered orange
The sun burns yet cannot appear
It is that time of year
The time for burning cane
Fields ablaze
As my mind takes me places I’ve never been
I wish upon the ash
As it lands and then smears black in my hand
I am in a wonderland
Of foreign thoughts, feelings, and sounds
I ride along dusty dirt roads
Along railroad tracks that sparked a revolution
Gracing me with peace and excitement and danger
As I recognize myself again wandering the lonely hills
Through the cane
Into the light
Past the point of fear now
I am ready to burn.

Leave a Reply

