The Fight

Speak now,
Speak the word
and give it a name.
Ever present
creeping shadows give hope
as well as pain
I am afraid to speak its name
For fear the dream will fail
It is all I have
To keep this feeling at bay
I am afraid.

I am afraid to believe
Believe me you will never see me coming
I am worthy of more than what they want to give
I am not a puppet to be pulled by strings
I will string you up and make you remember me
and this
and all of it,
for I belong here
this beauty is mine.
It is for my keeping.

Leave a Reply

