Metamorphosis

Bilingual life is all about metamorphosis…

I’m encountering many changes this week…things coming to fruition, things taking shape, things staying the same. In my Mexican life, I am learning how important the kitchen and cooking is for everything…everything is organic, you can buy a chicken that was slaughtered yesterday, fruits picked today, and vegetables grown in your neighbors’ back yard….all so simply available that it seems absurd how much we pay for this “privilege” in the U.S.  All because we have become so far-removed from nature that “organic” equals the extreme of luxury food consumption when it should in fact be the norm.

We bought squash flowers the day before yesterday…for 5 pesos….more than 2 kilos worth of squash flowers grown locally and handpicked for less the 50 cents…this is beautiful, but also absurd when I think about how much, how rare, such a thing would cost and be in the U.S. And why? Because, following Marx, we have become alienated from the modes of production. Basically, we no longer know how to sustain ourselves as individuals, as families, as a nation. We do not know how to grow things, how to care for nature. This is a simple fact. Those who do, we pay extra for the privilege of “tasting” the organic, the farm, the campesino (farmer) past that we so nostalgically long for, but have, for generations now, been excluded from. This is the reality of my generation, but I have decided that it is not my personal reality.

I am a grower, and am in a process of a metamorphosis as I also observe that process all around me. Take for example, these flowers that I bought at the market over 3 weeks ago:

DSCN9339

They are frangipani, my favorite flower, and with them came a surprise that 3 weeks later I am in the process of seeing “becoming”:

DSCN9435

I am seeing this worm grow into a butterfly. I haven’t observed this process since I was a girl, and it embodies my nostalgia for my past as much as it represents my present and future. I have no idea what it will turn into. Maybe a dragon monster… maybe I am kaleesi  with my new pet, I have no idea. But fear not, I have no intentions of conquering foreign lands…just observing the beauty of nature that happened upon me by chance.

In other news, the mead was ready today, and it was a hit:

DSCN9448

higher in alcohol, and it made enough for 4 wine bottles….really tasty.

 

To close, just want to share with you a recently successful recipe for cream of squash flower soup (it comes in English and Spanish):

Receta para crema de flor de calabaza:

CREMA DE FLOR DE CALABAZA

Ingredientes

  • 2 cucharadas de mantequilla
  • 2 cucharadas de cebolla, picada
  • 1 diente de ajo mediano, picado
  • 2 manojos de flor de calabaza
  • 2 latas de media crema
  • 1 ½ tazas de agua
  • 1 ½ cucharadas de consomé de pollo, en polvo

Preparación:

  1. Limpia las flores de calabaza, retirando los tallos y los pistilos.
  2. Calienta la mantequilla, sofríe la cebolla y el ajo. Agrega la flor y cocina por 3 minutos.
  3. Licúa la media crema con el agua, la flor de calabaza y el consomé. Regresa al fuego, deja cocinar por 10 minutos o hasta que espese ligeramente, moviendo constantemente para evitar que se pegue. Retira del fuego.
  4. Ofrece.

TIEMPO DE PREPARACIÓN
25 minutos
DIFICULTAD
Fácil

 Cream of Squash Flower Soup:

  • 2 spoonfuls of butter
  • 2 spoonfuls of onion, diced
  • 1 garlic clove, diced
  • 2 handfuls of squash flowers
  • 2 cans of middle cream
  • 1 1/2 cups of water
  • 1 ½ spoonfuls of chicken consumé, powdered

Prep:

  1. Clean the squash flowers, taking out stems and pistils. 
  2. heat the butter, sauté the garlic and onion. Then add the flowers, and cook for 3 minutes. 
  3. Blend the flowers, chicken consumé, garlic, onion, cream, and water.Return to the pot, heat and stir to avoid sticking and burning. 
  4. Serve to your happy guests. 

 

Leave a Reply

